People

Caroline A. Ross is the Associate Department Head and Toyota Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She completed her PhD at Cambridge University in the UK, followed by a postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard. She worked on research and development of hard disks at Komag, Inc. in Silicon Valley before joining MIT in 1997. Her group develops magnetic, magnetooptical and multiferroic materials and devices and studies the self-assembly of block copolymers and oxide nanocomposites. Prof. Ross teaches classes on structure of materials and magnetism.

Ross -- Personnel Page

  Prof. Caroline Ross
  Principal Investigator
  Toyota Professor of Materials Science & Engineering
  Associate Department Head

  B.A., Cambridge University, U.K. 1985
  Ph.D., Cambridge University, U.K., 1988
  Room 13-4005
  (617) 258-0223
  (617) 252-1020 (fax)
caross@mit.edu

Pamela Slavsky
Administrative Assistant II

Room 13-4086
Phone: (617) 715-4292
pamelasl@mit.edu 

Dong Hun Kim
Visiting Scholar from Myongji University in Korea
Ph.D, KAIST, Korea

Room 13-4025
dhkimmju@mit.edu

Research field: Self-assembled nanocomposites, Epitaxial thin film transfer, Electrochromic devices 

Yuichiro Kunai
Visiting Scientist, DMSE Department & MIT.nanoentist
M.S., Kyoto University, Japan

Room 13-4025
yukunai@mit.edu

Research field: Magneto-Optical materials for applications

Kensuke Hayashi
Postdoctoral Associate
Ph.D of Engineering , Gifu University, Japan 

Room 13-4025
hayashik@mit.edu

Research Field: Magneto-optical garnets, Oxide nanocomposites, Nanosheets

Mingchao Ma
Postdoctoral Associate
Ph.D., Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China​

Room 13-4037
mingchao@mit.edu

Research field: Block copolymer self-assembly.

Screen Shot 2020-09-09 at 11.05.07 AM

Eunsoo Cho
Graduate Student

B.S., Seoul National University, Seoul, South Korea
Room 13-4037
escho@mit.edu

Research field: Magnetic oxide films and electrochemical gating

Screen Shot 2020-09-09 at 11.05.37 AM

Miela Gross
Graduate Student, EECS Department

B.S., University of California, Berkeley
Room 13-4037
mjgross@mit.edu

Research field: Garnet heterostructures for applications in spintronics.

Allison Kaczmarek
Graduate Student

B.S. Materials Science and Engineering &
B.S. Chemistry, Clemson University, South Carolina
Room 13-4017
kacz@mit.edu

Research field:  Ferrimagnetic rare earth iron garnets for thin film spintronics

Bharat Khurana

 Bharat Khurana
Graduate Student

B.S., Materials Science Centre, IIT Kharagpur, West Bengal, India
Room 13-4017
bkhurana@mit.edu

Research field: Magnetic Garnets

Website-- Personnel Page -- Runze Liu

Runze Liu
Graduate Student

B.S., Fudan University, China
Room 13-4025
(617)949-6739
runzeliu@mit.edu

Research field: 3D block copolymer self-assembly, directed self-assembly

Cassie (Yixuan) Song
Graduate Student
MEng in Materials Science, the University of Oxford

Room 13-4037
yixuans@mit.edu

Research field: Ferrimagnetic iron garnets for applications in spintronics

Tingyu Su

Tingyu Su
Graduate Student in MechE

B.S.,University of Science and Technologyof China, Hefei, Anhui, China
Room 13-4037
tingyu@mit.edu

Research field: Ferroelectric and Magnetic Materials and Nanocomposites.

Screen Shot 2020-09-09 at 11.04.51 AM

 


Zehao Sun
Graduate Student

B.S., Peking University, China
Room 13-4025

zehao@mit.edu

Research field: Block copolymer self-assembly​

A list of alumni is available here.

 

 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.